The Identity That Can Handle Both Failure And Success.

by Seeall

My previous blog post was during my period of unemployment. It was quite a dark period in my life where I was lost, felt suffocated and depressed. Looking back, I now understood why I felt that way. It is because in today’s’ culture, I’m told that my self-worth was based on having a good job, (preferably in a reputable company with high salary etc) coupled together with family’s and society’s expectations from me to achieve and be great at something.

I taught a degree from Monash would land me in those big MNCs. I thought working in prestigious companies meant an increase in my self-worth. Maybe people will like me more. Maybe I will get more respect. But, back then I didn’t even know what I want or where I am heading to. I was in the pitch dark just aimlessly floating in a vacuum of space. At least that was how I felt.

I’m not saying that work is not a good thing and not important but today, in our modern culture, work becomes our identity – it’s just not just what we do it has become who we are. Our identity. If we are successful it will go to our head, we have this inflated idea of our identity, thinking we’re more able and wise than we really are.

Worldly perspective: Your identity has to be achieved not received.

Christian perspective: Your identity is received NOT achieved.

Worldly perspective: I perform to be accepted by others.

Christian perspective: I’m accepted in Jesus Christ and I know who I am in Jesus , therefore I perform.

This means 2 things that : –

  1. Every other approach to identity either mean you can be bold and confident or humble and

If you think of yourself as open-minded, you HAVE to look down as someone you consider narrow-minded bigot. It is this need to put others down to feel superior.

2. We can be both bold and humble at once through Christ Jesus.

Bold : Because we know that He already love and accepts us just as we are with all our flaws.

Humble : Because although we are sinful and unworthy, He still choose to loves us.

Note: Most of the references and points made here are taken from Timothy Keller’s sermon of the above title.

